• Serving independent schools and colleges with since 1990
SOCIAL MEDIA FEEDS
11/27/18

Comparing Halal and Kosher Foods

sage img

Our mission is to create exceptional dining experiences that delight the senses, inspire minds, and foster community. Fostering community means many things, including understanding and teaching about different eating patterns.


In this three-part series, we explore halal and kosher dietary laws. While many people associate the two because they are both used by religious groups and forbid consuming pork, there are key differences that are explained in this post. In future posts, we’ll take a closer look at halal and kosher foods, respectively.


 





















































Category Kosher Halal
Land animals Must have cloven hooves and chew cud Must survive on grass and leaves
Pork No No
Birds Listed in Torah (basically no predatory species) No predatory species
Seafood Must have fins and scales No predatory species
Ritual slaughter required Yes Yes
Who can perform slaughter Shochet (a trained Jew) “People of the Book” (Muslims, Christians, Jews)
Entire animal can be used No Yes
Milk & meat combined No (Parve foods have neither milk nor meat and can be eaten anytime). Yes
Alcohol Yes (Wine must be handled by an observant Jew or flash-pasteurized – mevushal wine). No (Islam prohibits all intoxicating alcohols, liquors, wine and drugs).

sage img

From Our Kitchen: Spiced Sweet Potato Pancakes

sage img

Managing a Food Allergy While Traveling

Next post

ACCOUNT LOGIN

Logging In...
 

Forgot Your Password?

Login

Parents: MyKidsSpending | SAGE Careers

RESET

Verifying Account...
 

Lost your password? Please enter your username (which could be your email address). An email will be sent to the account on file with instructions for resetting your password.

An email was sent to the account on file with instructions for resetting your password.

Reset password

Back to log-in

Close

Quick Contact

Sending...